Song of Solomon Chapter 1

A Verse-study by Shawna Curtis

v1) “The Song of Songs, which is Solomon’s”
Seemingly not very important, but so much meaning behind the story. Solomon wrote over a 1000 songs. This one is labeled the Song of Songs– much like the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. This denotes its sovereignty among the rest of the songs Solomon wrote. Amazingly enough, it the song that Solomon wrote about furious, passionate love.

v2) “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth! For your love is better than wine;”
I know all to often that I do not view my relationship with God in this manner. Sadly, I often view Him as only my father, who loves but is ready to discipline. I am learning that He is an intimate Jesus who wishes to be my husband! “For I feel a divine jealousy for you, since I betrothed you to one husband, to present you as a pure virgin to Christ.” 1 Corinthians 11:2. On a cool note, when you are kissing someone with your mouth, you can only kiss ONE person. He is a God who longs for an intimate relationship with us.

v3) “Your annointing oils are fragrant; your name is oil poured out, therefore virgins love you.”
Jesus is good and fragrant!! His name has been poured out on the sacrifice of His life. The entire church (virgins) love him not just this one bride. However, Jesus still longs for intimacy with each because…..

V4) “Draw me after you, let us run, The king has brought me into his chambers.”
He brings us each individually into his presence and chambers for a close personal relationship! I love how this says “Draw me after you”, it seems to denote that we can’t pursue this lover intensely enough on our own. He has to draw us to Himself. Draw us Jesus!

v5) “I am very dark but lovely, O daughters of Jerusalem, like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon.”
Interesting parallel how the woman is dark but lovely. This is very much as we are with Christ. Dark in our old nature, but because of His love we have been made as a pure virgin and lovely to Him.

v6) “Do not gaze at me because I am dark, because the sun has looked upon me; My mother’s sons were angry with me; they made me keeper of the vineyards, but my own vineyard I have not kept!”
So much in this scripture. I think the important thing to note though is how often we tell our lover,Jesus, not to look at us because of our dark and world damaged bodies. Lord, may we not keep up other peoples vineyards, even in the ministry, but neglect to manage our vineyard and personal relationship with you.

v7) “Tell me, who my soul loves, where you pasture your flock, where you make it lie down at noon; for why should I be like one who veils herself beside the flocks of your companions?”
Jesus, the one whom I love tell us where you rest your flock. The Lord is the onle place we can find rest! We shouldn’t be like the one who veils herself (denoting a prositute) and turn to other shepherds. Its interesting the use of the word companions and not enemies. How often do we put our trust in people who are friends of the Lord (pastors, teachers, spouses, parents). While these are good resources, our ultimate place of rest should be in the true Shepherd, Jesus!!

Leave a Reply

